Machine Quilting Practice #3

I started practicing my free motion quilting on real quilts.  Piecing together all those orphan blocks took up more time than I wanted to give right now.  I still like the idea and will use it later.

 

A member of my quilt group made this top for our charity project.

             free motion quilting practice 3 

 It isn’t my best quilting, but it isn’t my worst.  I have three more of these charity tops to quilt, then four of my own tops.  By the time I’m done, I’ll have taught myself free motion quilting and learned a few simple patterns. 

It scares me silly to put someone else’s top under that presser foot and start quilting, but I’m doing it anyway.  Fear can block the path to a great many things if you let it. 

The more I practice free motion, the more relaxed and comfortable I become.  Someday I’ll look back and wonder why I didn’t learn it sooner.  Then I can move on to the next thing that scares me silly and start all over again. 

This entry was posted in freemotion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

