Stash Report #17

I had a weekend straight out of one of those bible stories about what happens when you make the universe angry.

 

I got up Saturday morning to find the counters on one side of my kitchen covered with tiny black ants.  There were hundreds of them.  I asked them nicely to leave, but they didn’t.  I spent the next couple hours killing ants, cleaning everything and putting the food where they wouldn’t get into it.  The whole fiasco put me two hours behind in leaving for mom’s house.

 

Fast forward to Sunday early afternoon.  I’m driving back home across the Ohio Turnpike near Sandusky.  If any of you have ever been to Cedar Point Amusement Park in Sandusky, you know that stretch of road is completely flat and treeless.  I could see the dark sky and the rain up ahead.  It looked like it was raining hard.

 

Pretty soon it’s dark as night out.  I watched the temperature gage on the dashboard drop 18 degrees in five minutes.  Not good.  Not only did it pour rain, but the lightning was flashing and it hailed.  Most people pulled off to wait it out, but there was no way I was going to sit out in the open in the kind of weather that can bring tornados to see what happened next.  Nothing lasts forever, right?  I did drive out of it and hit another patch of heavy rain later, without the hail.

 

After all that I would have been justified in adding fabric to the stash, but I didn’t.  I’ll cash in that reward later.  I did use about a quarter yard for the finishing touches on the kite quilt.

 

See how everyone else is doing over on Judy’s blog.

 

 Total Added YTD:  1

Total Busted YTD:  7.75

 

Net Busted :   6.75 yds

This entry was posted in family, stashbusting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

