Not Quite Cobblestones

I needed a new project to shake things up a bit, so I made the first block for the quilt based on the Fig Tree Cobblestones pattern.

       NQC #1 

 

I changed the block construction to eliminate the Y seams.  I know Y seams aren’t that bad.  I just didn’t want to deal with them.

 

The fabrics (excepts the creams) are from the Sincerely Yours line by RJR fabrics.  At retreat several years ago I won a bundle of salesman’s samples that contained a piece of every fabric in the line in three different color ways.  I could never figure out what to do with the small odd size pieces.

      NQC fabric 

 

I have fond memories of that retreat.  It was the first one hosted by that quilt guild, so it wasn’t very crowded.  I talked a friend into going with me, and neither of us belonged to the guild.  We didn’t know a lot of the people there, so I got more sewing done than I do at most retreats.  I even slept in one morning.

 

Anyway, love the pattern, love the fabric and I feel drawn to make something with lots of prints.  This should do just fine.

This entry was posted in Fabric, nqc, retreat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

