UFO Challenge 2011

Judy over at Patchwork Times is hosting a UFO challenge in 2011.  Yesterday she posted pictures of the UFOs she plans to work on and added a place for all the other participants to link their posts.  Even if you don’t want to participate in the challenge, it’s fun to look at all the pictures of UFOs in the links.

If you are interested in participating, here’s how it works.  You pick 12 UFOs you want to finish and number them 1 to 12.  Each month Judy will randomly pick a number, and that’s the UFO you work on for that month.  The first of the next month she will pick another number, and you work on that quilt, etc.

I think I’ll play along, but with some modifications.  I chose six UFOs I want to finish next year:  the art doll, Retro Charm, Tribal Roots, Cobblestones, the butterfly quilt and the Native American round robin.  I planned to finish them this year, but that didn’t happen.  Picking 12 UFOs would have been a total joke given everything else going on in my life.

My UFO list is in no particular order.  I’m working on one now.  When I finish it I’ll start whichever quilt on the list motivates me the most, and so on.  We’ve already decided in my mini-group that we’re going to finish the round robins we started a couple years ago as our challenge for the first half of 2011.  That quilt will be the next one I work on (hanging by clothespins in picture below).

I’m not posting pictures of all my UFOs because most of them have hit the blog at one time or another.  Instead, here’s a picture of my UFO shelf.  Each box/bag contains more than one quilt.  Once I counted how much fabric I had stashed in those boxes and I believe it was over 50 yards.  I can guarantee there’s more then that now. I can also guarantee I have more UFOs tucked away in various places the sewing room. 

 

If I can finish six of them, 2011 will be a good year.

This entry was posted in ufos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

