Quilt in process

I haven’t posted pictures of my design wall lately, but I am working on a journal size quilt.  Of course, it came out of a UFO box.  I started it in 2008 as part of the Take It Further challenge hosted by Sharon at Pin Tangle.  If you’ve never checked out Sharon’s blog, you’re missing some amazing crazy quilting.

 

The theme from that month was something about a favorite childhood memory.  I took a picture of a few pieces of my china tea set (received for Christmas when I was about 5 years old) and converted it to a line drawing using photo-editing software.  I traced the design onto fabric using Pigma pen and colored it in with fabric paint.

I used machine trapunto to make the china pieces stand out.  I wanted to try this technique for years, and after doing it I have no idea why I waited so long. 

I cross-hatched the bottom of the quilt to look like a tablecloth.  I quilted with decorative stitches on the top half to give it the look of wallpaper.

Once I rinse out the blue marking pencil and block it I’ll bind it in a red similar to the ones in the border.

This entry was posted in fabricpainting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilt in process

  1. Pingback: Stash Report Feb 6, 2011 | quiltpaintcreate

Leave a Reply

