UFO Challenge Project Done

I finished project #10 on the UFO Challenge list, the art quilt doll.  I named her Ariel and she sits next to my sewing machine, encouraging me to finish even more UFOs.

 

I’m so excited that I finished a day early AND it’s my third UFO finish this year.

I ended up drafting my own pattern for the shirt.  After having fits with water-soluble stabilizer while edging the skirt, I switched to tear away stabilizer for the shirt.  If only I had started that way.  Live and learn.

Her hair is hand-dyed mohair I bought at a fiber arts festival several years ago.  I found a great tutorial here that explains how to weft hair.  Who knew?  I looked it up because I had no clue.  It was a lot faster and easier than I thought it would be.

When the first rolls around on Tuesday, Judy will pick the March UFO challenge quilt.  I’m rooting for #5 because I need to finish it by the end of June for a different challenge.

And just so I don’t lose track, here are my updated stash totals with the finish.

Fabric Used YTD:  12.5 yards

Fabric In YTD:  6.65 yards

Net Busted:  5.85 yards

This entry was posted in ufos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to UFO Challenge Project Done

  1. Marti says:

    How cute! She looks like a ballerina.

  2. Judy D in AZ says:

    What a great sewing machine guardian.

  3. Diane says:

    I used to make fabric dolls years ago. In fact, I made 2 that look like Ariel! It’s so amazing that ‘they’ decide what they’re going to look like. I intended to make a Christmas fairy once and she ended up Jewish! LOL

  4. Tamera says:

    What a wonderful finish!

  5. Linda Elling says:

    She’s great. I love her.

  6. BetsyE says:

    Wow! Nice finish. I haven’t tried 3D type things yet… maybe someday!

  7. Adorable! I admire people who can make dolls…wow!

  8. Judy Currie says:

    I love your new sewing assistant – great work. Judy Cin NC

  9. Connie says:

    Ariel is beautiful! Congrats on finishing her and having a new friend by your sewing machine.

  10. Ruth Lane says:

    She turned out wonderfully and congrats on keeping on track finishing your UFO’s.

  11. Heather says:

    She’s beautiful! What a fun project! 🙂

Leave a Reply

