The Elusive “Quilt As Desired”

I’m working on the quilting design for Tribal Roots.  I must have sketched it a hundred times.  I’m to the point where I need to start quilting and stop sketching and erasing.

 

I know the penciled in quilting lines don’t show well in the picture, but you can see some of them.  I left the variations on the sketch because I may change my mind as I go. 

I’ve really struggled with the quilting design on this one, probably more than any other quilt I’ve made.  I graphed out the larger motifs and plan to try them out on charity quilts to make sure they look the same on fabric as they do on paper.  I’ve never done a test run on a quilting design, but there were times I wished I had.

If nothing else, it will get those charity quilts finished.

This entry was posted in quilting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Elusive “Quilt As Desired”

  1. Great post thanks for sharing. You have a great layout here. Quilting is something I really enjoy doing. It passes the time and is very relaxing.

Leave a Reply

