Home Dec Inspired

Do you ever buy magazines that have nothing to do with quilting to provide design inspiration?

Last week, on my way home from work one night, I got re-routed by a train.  In the Toledo area, they have a nasty habit of blocking the crossroads at a dead stop, sometimes for a very long time.  I decided to go around, which took me right past the mall and a Barnes and Noble.  I didn’t have to be anywhere else, so I went in and browsed.

I picked up this magazine.

 

It’s a Woman’s Day special interest publication.  Twenty years ago Better Homes and Gardens published amazing special interest publications covering all kinds of needlework.  I bought several of those and looked at them over and over.  In time I could no longer find them. 

Back to the newest addition to my special interest publication stash.

I can’t say I have much use for their decorating ideas, but they did some interesting things with paint using tools I didn’t know existed.  They also had an article on dyeing a lampshade.  I’ve been dyeing over ten years and never would have considered it.  It was a small lampshade, but a lampshade nonetheless.

I think there’s a trip to Lowe’s in my future.  I gotta get me some of those tools.

This entry was posted in inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

