NQA Show Columbus

I came home today from the NQA show in Columbus.  I drove down yesterday morning and took a class, which I’ll talk about in a later post, spent the night and walked the show today.

I’ve never walked through a major show faster than I walked through this one.  I got there when it opened and started at the far end, so I didn’t hit the crowd until the last few rows.  So many of the quilts had the greyed down, muted fabrics in them and what I call hyper-quilting.  I can appreciate the skill that goes into the fine stippling, but it isn’t my favorite look.  I also prefer bright fabrics and lots of contrast to the muted tones.  

The one bright spot was the first place pictorial quilt.  I saw the third place quilt early on and thought it was very nice.  When I saw it only took third I wondered exactly what had won first place.  Now that the show is over, the NQA will eventually post pictures of the winners.  You have to check out the quilt called The Loading Dock.  I couldn’t possibly come up with words that would do it justice.

I didn’t spend much time in the vendor booths because I need nothing.  I did buy some thread and a half-yard of batik.  I’m a big fan of YLI thread and I always visit their booth at the major shows.

 

I’ll update my stash totals here so I don’t forget about the fabric I bought.

 Fabric Used YTD:  20.625 yards

Fabric In YTD:  17 yards

 Net Busted:  3.625 yards 

 I need to finish up a few things before we head down to Quilt National in July.  We always stop at The Nelsonville Quilt Company.  It’s just the cutest little shop and I always find something I can’t live without.

This entry was posted in quiltshows and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NQA Show Columbus

  1. Connie in VA says:

    I always buy thread at a major show. I’m impressed with only one 1/2 yd of fabric purchased for going through quilt show vendors.

  2. Amy C says:

    I’ll be interested to hear about your class. That is the nice thing about the big shows. They can bring in some neat classes. As promised, you did a good job on minimal purchases.

  3. Debby says:

    I bought way more than 1/2 yard of fabric at the NQA show. In my defense, they were Christmas presents.

Leave a Reply

