Gluten Free Bread Review

My sister came in from out of state and brought me some gluten free bread she made from a Bob’s Red Mill bread mix.  The package says it is gluten free, wheat free, dairy free and casein free.  You can make it by hand or in a bread machine.

 

My sister worried about this one because she thought it had an odd smell when baking.  I think the loaf has a bit of an anise taste to it.  My son thinks it has a nutty taste.  I think the unusual taste comes from the garbanzo flour, which is the first ingredient listed.

The loaf has good consistency and holds together well when cut.  I keep it in the fridge because that’s how most wheat free breads need stored.

This would be a good bread to use for stuffing, but I don’t think I’d make it to use on sandwiches.  I really like the Gluten Free Pantry French bread mix.  It would take a heck of a mix to get me to change to something else.

If you like your bread with a stronger taste to it, like pumpernickel, I would say give it a try.  If not, then you may want to skip this one.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

