Mackinaw City Vacation

We returned yesterday from a week in northern Michigan, soaking up some cooler temperatures and Great Lakes beaches.

I have to give a big thumbs up to the Upper Peninsula, the family atmosphere in Mackinaw City and the uncrowded beaches.  The city is set up so you can walk everywhere, and we did.  I already miss the cooler temperatures and the long walks.  We came back to humid 90-degree weather.

The UP was my favorite part of the trip.  We drove all the way across to the northern shore.  Some of the areas we drove through were a little too remote for me, and that’s saying a lot.  Unfortunately, I only got three pictures before my camera battery died.  This is along the shore of Lake Superior.

 

My least favorite part was Mackinaw Island.  It was overpriced, overcrowded and there was horseshit everywhere.  They don’t allow any type of motorized vehicles, so you either walk, ride bikes or take the horse-drawn trolleys.  Tourist traps like that don’t do much for me.

It was good to get away and break up the routine, but I think we’re all glad to be home.  There’s nothing like a hotel room to make you appreciate a dedicated sewing space.

This entry was posted in family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

