Patsy Thompson Feather Class

Saturday I went up to The Quilt Patch in Tecumseh and took a Free Motion Feather class with Patsy Thompson.

If you ever have the chance to take one of Patsy’s classes, do it.  She packs in so much information, demonstrates everything and is very free about letting her students handle and photograph her work.  I’ve taken many classes over the years, and the only other teacher that made her work that available was Vikki Pignatelli.

We covered just about every feather pattern Patsy puts in her quilts, and I felt like we were just scratching the surface because of the infinite variations.  We quilted straight feathers and curvy feathers.  We filled triangles with feathers.  We feathered a heart shape.  We added swirls to feathers.  We hyper-quilted feathers.  The list went on and on.

 

I also picked up tips on thread, needles and notions to make free motion quilting easier.  I switched to a topstitch needle about an hour into class.  I thought that worked better for me than the Sharps I usually use.  I also bought a can of silicon spray, made especially for quilters so it doesn’t stain your fabric.  I don’t think it improved my quilting, but I tensed less through my shoulders because I didn’t have to work as hard to move the fabric.

I still have a ways to go before I’d be willing to quilt feathers into anything but a practice piece, but I’m confident I can get there with practice.  Now that I’ve seen what I can do, I’m much more open to trying other new quilting patterns.

Thanks to Patsy and The Quilt Patch for a great class.

This entry was posted in classes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Patsy Thompson Feather Class

  1. Pingback: Stash Report 8/28/11 | quiltpaintcreate

  2. Wendee says:

    Those samples look lovely! Love that curvy feather pattern! I’ll bet it feels great to be able to do that! I tried these in a long-arm class and found I can do the feathers better in one direction; returning the opposite way to complete the two-halves of the feathers was quite the challenge. I’d never thought of trying these free motion… Hmmm. For right now, I’m trying to finish off that table runner with a nice straight grid of quilting. 😉 Wendee

Leave a Reply

