October UFO

At the beginning of the year I joined a UFO challenge.  I had to list out the UFOs I wanted to finish and number them.  Every month the host picked a number and that’s the UFO everyone worked on. 

I wasn’t keen on choosing the UFOs for the list a year ahead, but I did it.  After nine months of never working on the UFO chosen for that month, it’s time to bail.

I’m still working to finish those UFOs, but on my terms.  I completed five so far this year.  I’m sure I can finish two more.  Everything after that is gravy.

So this month I counted up all those unfinished projects (22), put numbered pieces of paper in a box, and drew one.  Whatever number came out, that’s what I work on.  If I don’t like it enough to work on it, I either pitch it or donate it or give it to someone that will.  No putting it back on the shelf.  When I finish it, I’ll pick another number.

The lucky UFO for October is this quilt.

                        

I won three of the blocks in a raffle.  I made one more to even it out.  After I added the border I thought it needed more, like another round of blocks.  I don’t work in this style or in these colors, and I didn’t have enough similar fabric to add another round.  So on the UFO shelf it went.

I don’t want to buy fabric for it that I won’t use in other projects, so I decided to quilt it and bind it and call it a charity quilt.  Maybe I’ll actually finish this one in October.

This entry was posted in ufos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October UFO

  1. Gayle says:

    I’m actually borrowing your last UFO idea for my small quilting group. There are eight of us and we meet once a month at a library for a sit and sew. We are of course putting our own spin on the thing. We are only choosing six UFO’s and are going to give ourselves two months to complete each one.
    I’ll let you know how that works out for us.

  2. Beth in TN says:

    You could post UFOs that don’t particularly appeal to you and ask if anyone would give them a home. I managed to pawn mine off on *somebody* who has several guilds she could pass them on to. Somebody somewhere was happy to take those projects and do something with them. Once I determined it wasn’t going to be me, it was easy to get rid of them.

Leave a Reply

