2012 Word Of The Year

At the end of every year, I pick a word that serves as a guide for the following year.  Actually, I don’t pick the word.  I let the word pick me.  I get quiet and get out of my own way, and the word becomes clear.  It’s never a word I would have chosen through logic or reason, but it’s always the exact right word for me.

My word for 2011 was connect.  I thought this would make 2011 a social year, but I couldn’t have been more wrong.  In fact, it was just the opposite.  I was so wrapped up in taking care of mom and her problems and plowing through a workload at the day job that bordered on impossible, that I lost myself.  At some point service had to take a backseat to self-preservation.  I’m in a better place now, but it’s still a work in process.  Connect will continue as a minor theme into next year.

The irony of picking a word of the year is that it never plays out the way I think it will.  This year I’m going into it with no preconceived notions.  I admit I have no idea what it means, and like most years, the word scares me a little.  Where attention flows, change is sure to follow.

In 2012, I will Shine.

Does this imply doing more in a visible way?  Or perhaps it’s more of a state of mind?  However it unfolds, I know I can have fun with this word.  It has a bright, happy energy to it, like a sunny day is glowing inside me.  And I’m all about a little happiness in my life.

This entry was posted in Personal Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Word Of The Year

  1. ruthlane says:

    Shine is a wonderful word. I look forward to seeing that bright, happy energy at work!

Leave a Reply

