Curved Piecing

An opportunity came my way to learn something new, so that’s what I did today.

This is my first attempt at curved piecing.  It isn’t hard.  Like anything else, it just takes time.  There are three more sections to sew onto this piece, creating a 17 x 22 background for appliqué and thread work. 

 

I can see myself using this to create future quilts.  I like having one more technique in the toolbox. 

I’m not crazy about the two lightest fabrics, and I plan to paint them to darken them up.  I used blue wash away marker to trace the pattern pieces, and I keep washing it out but it keeps reappearing.  I think I’ll have to run water over it to get it out.  I’ve never had marker continually reappear like that and I don’t like it.  The next time I try this I’m using silver marking pencil or chalk instead.

Maybe I should earmark every Sunday afternoon for creative play.  It beats cleaning the bathroom and laundry, which is what I usually do.

This entry was posted in piecing techniques and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Curved Piecing

  1. Gayle says:

    Try rubbing the marks with ice. The colder the water the better it takes out the blue stuff.

Leave a Reply

