Pizza At Last

One of the things I miss the most on a gluten-free diet is bread and related items.  I have the recipe for biscuits down, and I make them at least once a week.  I also found a bread mix I like and I make that about once a month.  I’d make it more, but it takes a couple of hours.  No using the bread machine for that one.

What I hadn’t found was reasonably priced pizza crust that didn’t make more than I could eat in a month.  I miss pizza.  I never ate it that often, but I like here and there.

After browsing a few gluten-free cookbooks, I decided to develop my own recipe for pizza crust.  It’s still a work in process, but it’s getting there.

 

I adapted the biscuit recipe by changing the flour to a combination of baking mix, brown rice flour and potato starch.  I’d prefer the dough a little stiffer, but it works without the cardboard dryness of some gluten-free products.  It’s quick and easy, and I always have the ingredients on hand.

I’ve also tried a couple of other prepackaged breads.  Udi’s sandwich bread tastes like French bread, and has much the same consistency.  The pieces are small though, and I think the fat and calories are a little high for the size (2 pcs have 150 calories and 4.5 grams of fat).  It does hold together for a sandwich, which is more than I can say for the bread I make from the mix.

The other loaf is Rudi’s cinnamon bread.  It’s comparable to Udi’s, but the fat and calories are more in line.  The thick slices toast up really nice and they have lots of raisins.  Again, the pieces are smaller than regular bread.

I’d buy either product again.

As always, I have no affiliation with either company.  I do these reviews because gluten-free products can be pricey, and I hate buying something and throwing it away because it tastes like sawdust.  With these products you’re safe, so enjoy!

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

