Drop Out

Over the past few months I’ve thought about taking a class.  Mostly I’ve thought about drawing and painting classes, but I considered quilting classes too.

The Quilt University newsletter showed up in my mailbox today, so I glanced through that.  I browsed the Joggles listing.  I stumbled on the Academy of Quilting class list.  I followed a link to the Dirty Footprints Studio and read about their 21 Secrets class series.

I love to learn.  I take mostly techniques classes.  OK – I take only technique classes, and I usually take at least one a year.

As I browsed the lists, I realized none of the classes really spoke to me.  Instead of thinking how much fun it would be to learn xxxxx, I’m thinking it will take time away from creating the things I feel compelled to create.

For reasons I don’t completely understand, it’s time for me to stop looking at other people’s work and start creating my own.  I won’t be signing up for any of the classes right now.  I don’t want what anyone else is doing to influence me.

No idea where this is going.  I hope it leads to creative fun and some cool results, but I expect it to also produce some really hideous samples that I will freely share.  By my way of thinking, if I don’t make mistakes I’m not trying hard enough.

On a unrelated topic, thanks to everyone who reads the blog and special thanks to everyone that comments.  WordPress recently changed their stat screens, and now I can view the hits by country.  Blog-City always had this feature, but this is the first I’ve seen it since I moved to WordPress.  I’m always in awe of all the different countries that show up on the list.  It does sadden me to see that some of the countries are blocked, but I’m sure WordPress has their reasons.  I prefer to think of quilting as a universal language that erases all borders.  Maybe someday…

This entry was posted in classes, creativity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drop Out

  1. Gayle says:

    I have kind of stopped taking classes too. But I am going to sign up for an on-line dyeing class that is always available to you not just for a short time like most.

  2. Donna says:

    I read your blog today with interest, as I am feeling much the same way. I look at the amazing stash I have amassed, and want to enjoy making things now. And the books… lots of them… so many good techniques and ideas to incorporate. I am looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

