Watercolor Dreams

During the last trip to work on mom’s house, I found this.  In a closet.  Upstairs.  With no other art supplies anywhere near it.

 

Did you notice the price?  What decade do you think its from?

Two days later, I bought these.

 

I almost bought the pencils instead, but crayons I understand.  I colored a lot as a child.  I had great big boxes of crayons.  I still have them.  You know, they don’t make some of the colors they made back in the ‘60s anymore.  I still use those colors in my art quilts and enjoy every minute of it.

As much as I appreciate the watercolor pad, I just have to use those crayons on fabric.  I did some research and learned I needed fabric medium if I wanted the color to hold, especially if the fabric is washed.

That led me on a search for this.

 

I’m not a big Martha Stewart fan, but this was the only brand Michael’s carried.  They also had a huge selection of her paints, and I eyed them since I can’t find fabric paint locally anymore.  The saleswoman raved about the quality, but that’s an experiment for another day.

During my research I saw that quilters were using watercolor crayons on fabric five years ago.  Five years!  How in the world did I miss that?  It just goes to show that there’s nothing really new out there, just our own unique spin on what’s already there.

This entry was posted in fabricpainting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watercolor Dreams

  1. ruthlane says:

    I look forward to seeing your experiments with the watercolor crayons. I really like mine. I use Jo Sonya liquid fabric medium on mine usually if I use it on fabric. Lots of times, I just use them on paper.

  2. Wendee says:

    Sounds like lots of fun! I love watercolor crayons, but never thought to use them on fabric. Looking forward to your experiments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

