Happy Mother’s Day!

I’m a little early on this, but it’s okay because I started celebrating today.

The assisted living facility where mom lives had a brunch and live entertainment this morning.  A banjo player came in and played the “oldies”.  The residents and their families sang along to many of the tunes.  It was more fun than I thought it would be, even though I didn’t know the words to sing along (except for Happy Birthday). 

To my surprise, I hadn’t seen many of the residents before.  Mom’s wing is a long hall with a dining room and activity room in the middle.  I know the residents at her end of the hall, but I haven’t met many people that live on the other side of the common area.  Met a lot of the families I hadn’t seen before either.  Most of them scattered fast after the entertainment ended, but I stayed and visited for another hour.

Tomorrow I’ll pick mom up and take her out for Mother’s Day ice cream.  Her dementia has hit the point where food doesn’t taste right to her.  I’m beginning to think cookies, ice cream and candy make up at least half of her diet, and with all that her weight is only holding. 

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms out there, and to everyone who has been like a mother to someone.  Treat yourself to something fun and relaxing tomorrow!

This entry was posted in family, holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

