Pellon Clear Fuse

Has anyone tried Pellon Clear Fuse?

I bought some last year and just got around to trying it. It’s a lot like paper backed fusible web, except the backing is clear.

I’m not sure if I like it or not. I think I need to give it more of a trial. I learned fast that you have to mark on it with Sharpie or something similar. Pencil didn’t work, and I was concerned that ink pen might end up where I didn’t want it.

I can see the beauty of using it to fussy cut your fused pieces. It’s not something I do regularly, but other quilters might.

There’s also a bit of a trick to it. You have to melt the fusible side into the fabric really well, or the backing doesn’t come off. I found pressing from the fabric side rather than the fusible side worked best. Can you see where I mangled the edge of one of the circles trying to get the backing off?

I’m using the Clear Fuse to appliqué on the curved piecing background. I plan to stick with it through the entire project top give it a fair test. If you’ve ever used it, I’d love to hear your opinion.

This entry was posted in applique, fusing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pellon Clear Fuse

  1. Gayle says:

    I love fusibles!!!!!
    I’ve never used this before. Keep us posted. I always use Wonder Under for wall hangings and art quilts because I like the way it handles and I like how inexpensive it is. I use Misty Fuse when I am doing fused applique on an actual quilt because the change in hand of the fabric is negligible. I recently heard that a paper backed product called Soft Fuse is very soft as well. I Googled it and you get 10 8″ x 10″ for $10. I don’t think so. Misty fuse is $8 for an 18″ x a couple yards at least hunk. You can buy it by the yard at quilt shops as well. You just need to use a pressing sheet.
    You can stop the “mangle” on the edges of the pieces by drawing your shapes after the paper or “clear stuff” is off. Works really well once you get your brain around the concept which I have to admit took me quite a while.

Leave a Reply

