AQS Show, Grand Rapids

I went to the show on Friday with a friend, spent the night and shopped our way back.

We were pleasantly surprised to see that Grand Rapids was a wonderful show venue.  It far surpassed Chicago and Columbus in cleanliness, easy access, reasonably priced hotels and restaurants, and friendliness of staff.  No big traffic jams, no street closings for parades and festival, no major detours around construction.  We stayed at the Marriott, and it was one of the nicest hotel rooms I’ve ever stayed in.  I traveled a lot in my corporate banking days, so that’s saying a lot.

The show was very nice and leaned more toward the traditional.  My only complaint was that some vendors seriously underestimated the crowd and ran out of stock.  By the time we arrived at noon, the Hobbs booth was completely sold out and many other vendors had empty bins.

I thought I was going to make it through the trip without buying fabric, but I caved and bought a yard at our last stop.  I was thrilled to find the Jean Wells book at the show for only $5.  I’ve checked that book out of the library several times.

 

To see how much stash everyone else is using (or adding), visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric Added:  20 7/8 yards

Fabric Used:    11 1/4 yards

Net Added:      9 5/8 yards

This entry was posted in quiltshows, stashbusting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AQS Show, Grand Rapids

  1. Mary-Kay says:

    I went to the show and loved it. I’ve been through Grand Rapids before but never stopped. What a happening city! Very clean and beautiful!

  2. Dee Dee says:

    I think it is great that AQS is moving their shows around the country. With gas prices high a lot of folks aren’t able to make the long trip to Paducah each year. Glad you had a great time.

  3. Gayle says:

    I was at the show from Wednesday to Friday. Sorry I missed you on Friday. AQS officials said that the crowd at this show surpassed all other first year shows they have had by noon on Thursday. I would love to know how many people came through on Friday and Saturday because it sure seemed like there were a lot more people on Friday than Wednesday and Thursday.They are thrilled with Grand Rapids because they took it upon themselves to advertise and promote the show which doesn’t always happen. GR is a great hidden jewel in Michigan for sure. This year AQS spent more in advertising this show than they have on any other show as well. I think it all worked. I was disappointed with the vendors though. I was expecting something other than a dozen quilt shop booths all promoting the dark and dreary primitive/wool stuff. Plus the first evening we watched shopper after shopper carry out boxes of steam mops. Really???? You went to a quilt show and bought a mop? Interesting indeed. We are planning on going back again next year though because we loved it.

Leave a Reply

