Gluten Free One Time Buys

I’ve had a good run with trying and liking new products.  I think the manufacturers have a clue now, but here and there they still miss.

Before I start in on why I won’t buy these two products again, I want to make it clear that they both taste good.  Quality is not an issue, only my personal preferences.

 

Amy’s macaroni and cheese is the closest I’ve had to the real thing since I went gluten–free, but at 520 calories and 22 grams of fat in an 8-ounce serving, it is not for the diet conscious.  I appreciate that it’s also milk free, but some of the calories and fat need to go.

The Glutino gluten free crackers remind me of animal crackers.  I like that they are thicker than most gluten free crackers and taste more like a cookie, but they have too much flax seed.  This isn’t the first gluten free product I’ve bought with an overabundance of flax seed in it.  Not everyone can tolerate it. 

This is the same company that puts out the Gluten-Free Kitchen mixes, which I love.  As always, I have no relationship to either company.

Have you found a great gluten free product?  If so, leave a comment and share the joy.  I’m always game to try something new.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gluten Free One Time Buys

  1. Beth says:

    Blue Diamond Nut Thin Crackers. I just get the plain almond ones so I can put peanut butter on them, but they have ranch, cheddar, etc. (which I’ve never tasted). They also have pecan, hazelnut (I think) which I have also not tried. Blue Diamond is also making a chip that is similar to the crackers, but I didn’t like them as well as Wild Riceworks gourmet wildrice crisps (like Fritos sorta only better) and Riceworks gourmet brown rice crisps–Sweet chili lime!

  2. Beth says:

    Maybe you were looking for suggestions for REAL FOOD. In that case, I have none 🙂

  3. Joyce says:

    I agree, many products have flax seed, which doesn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

