Stash Report 09/23/12

Nothing in and nothing out this week.  I went out in the pouring rain to buy fabric for a flannel nightshirt but decided to wait. 

Last year I asked for a flannel nightgown for Christmas, and the guys went to a half-dozen stores and couldn’t find one.  Do they not make them anymore?  I’m a big fan of natural fiber and can’t believe how hard it is to find 100% cotton anything, especially jeans.  I now buy all my jeans at Goodwill where I easily find cotton and pay a small fraction of the price I’d pay anywhere else.

I hadn’t made the connection between the increasing prices at the quilt shops and the increasing prices of all other fabrics.  A little slow here, but I get it now.

I checked out a rug-making book from the library in a quest to bust massive amounts of fabric before the end of the year.  The book wasn’t quite what I expected, but the more I think about it the more I think I can adapt some of the patterns to work with the fabric I have and streamline the process to cut down the time.

 

I’ll let those ideas bounce around in my head for a day or so and get back to you.

To see all the other stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric Added:  23 yards

Fabric Used:    11 1/4 yards

Net Added:      11 3/4 yards

This entry was posted in books, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stash Report 09/23/12

  1. WOW,I LIKE THIS BLOG SO MUCH. GOOD LUCK!!

  2. How interesting, Machine Made Rugs. You need to give us a taste of how and what!
    glen

  3. Beth says:

    Good all cotton flannel nightgowns are available at Vermontcountrystore.com. I highly recommend the Lanz brand gowns. I’ve owned several. Heavyweight flannel, good workmanship. You can also find them at llbean.com.
    Rag rugs: This is a tutorial for the type I’ve seen done before with ripped cotton: http://www.sugarbeecrafts.com/2010/02/rag-rug-tutorial.html
    Looks pretty simple once you get the fabric ripped and rolled! 🙂

  4. Gayle says:

    I bought some flannel pajamas for Nichole for Christmas last year from Sears. They had gowns too but she didn’t want that.
    I love the jeans with the stretchy stuff in them actually. Women’s jeans are almost never cut for my body type but for pear shaped folks so when I get a pair that fits around the middle they are about four times too big in the legs and rear. But with the lycra in them they work. I love Goodwill.
    I want to see the rug pattern from the speaker at the last GAAQG meeting. Those looked nice and seemed to be pretty sturdy and maybe less work too! She didn’t say when the pattern was coming out but did say they were working on one. I think you could make one like that into a room sized rug even. PSSSSSSHHHHT!

Leave a Reply

