Another Gluten Free Adventure

There are things I really miss since I figured out I need to eat gluten free.  Pizza.  Cookies.  Cake.  The ability to go to a restaurant and order a sandwich.  It doesn’t matter what kind, I just sometimes want the option.

Now that the weather is cooler and I’m back into cooking mode, I’ll be working my way through all the mixes I’ve been stockpiling.  Last week the winner was Bob’s Red Mill Vanilla Cake mix.  It’s gluten free, wheat free and dairy free.

 

I added an extra teaspoon of baking powder to the mix because it had been sitting here for a while.  I also added an extra teaspoon of vanilla because sometimes gluten free products have that weird taste.  If you’ve tried them, you know what I mean.

I used two loaf pans to bake it and ended up with two good size cakes.  I cut one into chunks and wrapped it really well and froze it.  The other I frosted and my son and I ate most of it.  Since he doesn’t need to eat gluten free, I froze the rest of that cake too.

The mix was a winner.  It tasted like yellow cake without the chemical taste you get in regular mixes.  It was a little denser and less moist than regular cake, but not as heavy as a pound cake.  I’ll definitely buy this one again.

Bob’s Red Mill also does a very good cornbread mix, which I think I reviewed here a year or two ago.  That mix also makes plenty to freeze.

As always, I have no ties to the company, I just enjoy their products.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Gluten Free Adventure

  1. Beth says:

    Thanks! I have yet to try to bake any of the gluten-free mixes, but I’ve seen this brand. I’ve bought some other cake mixes and they are still sitting. Somehow I have lost the taste for the sweet stuff, although I also sometimes wish I could eat a sandwich or a slice of pizza just because it would be quicker and easier!

Leave a Reply

