All About Stash

My friend and I went to the Greater Ann Arbor Quilt Guild meeting yesterday for the trunk show and lecture by Bonnie Hunter.  Bonnie is an amazing speaker, and she has some great ideas for using up old, not so well loved fabric to make room for beautiful new fabric.  I’m all about that.  I left the meeting with new perspective on how to organize myself better and finally get to some of the quilts that have been on my wish list forever.  I was so motivated I worked on the star quilt later that night.

Every trip to Ann Arbor involves shopping and getting stuck in game day traffic.  It just wouldn’t be a guild Saturday without those things.  One of our favorite stops is the PTO shop, a thrift shop that supports Ann Arbor schools.  I’ve never seen a thrift shop carry so much fabric, and they sell it for just over $1 a yard.  I rarely walk out of there without something, and yesterday was no exception.

 

That’s 1.25 yards in.  The star quilt isn’t far enough along to count anything out.  Maybe next week.

To see how much fabric everyone else is using (or buying), visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric Added:  29.25 yards

Fabric Used:    23.75 yards

Net Added:      5.5 yards

This entry was posted in quilt guild, shopping, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to All About Stash

  1. Dee Dee says:

    It is always a good thing to get our quilting batteries recharged. Learning new ways to do what we love is especially motivating. Sounds like you had the perfect day.

  2. Barb in MI says:

    Only 5 yards in – you still have time to use it until 2013!
    I was at the GAAQG meet with Bonnie Hunter as well. It was my first time in the area and at the meet. Wow, what a fascinating and huge (for me) guild! Maybe one day we can meet and chat – or visit PTO and shop?

  3. Gayle says:

    You’ll have to someday tell me where this thrift store is. I love a good RumDum!

  4. You’ve done really well for the year on the stash busting front. Sounds like Bonnie’s class was really inspiring. I have a couple of her books, but have never gotten a chance to hear her speak.

  5. Dar in MO says:

    Sounds like this PTO shop would get me in big trouble. You were lucky to hear Bonnie H. Hope to have her at our guild one of these years!

  6. Terri in BC says:

    I’m so jealous! I would love to see Bonnie Hunter in action. Great score at the thrift shop, my local ones don’t carry fabric.

Leave a Reply

