Word of the Year 2013

Happy New Year to everyone!
At the beginning of every year, I pick a word that will be my theme for the year. This will be my fourth year of picking a word, with two or three years of picking a saying before that. The simplicity of a one word theme fits my style better than something longer and more complex.
If you’re interested in picking your own Word of the Year, check out this post on Christine Kane’s blog.
My word for 2012 was “shine”. And I did – big time. Just not in the areas of my life that I anticipated. In my experience, that’s the way of it. That one little word NEVER produces the changes or results that I see in my mind when I pick it.
It’s all good though. I stepped so far out of my comfort zone that I couldn’t even see it anymore. I did things I never thought I’d be doing. And it all took me way closer to goals I never thought I’d reach anytime soon.
With all that in mind, I’m trying not to have too many expectations when it comes to my word for 2013.
Release
I had so much fun the month I chose “letting go” as a 30-day trial, and I felt like I hadn’t even begun to explore the possibilities. I knew there was a lot more I could do with the concept, and I really wanted to see how far I could take it.
My big goal with “release” is to sell mom’s house this year. She’ll never live there again and it’s a money pit. It’s time to let it, and most of the stuff in it, go. As a side benefit, I tend to purge my own stuff too when I’m in downsizing mode.
After that, we’ll see just what “release” brings.

This entry was posted in family, ideas, inspiration, Personal Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word of the Year 2013

  1. ruthlane says:

    Great word – it will be interesting to see how it works out for you.

  2. helen-mary says:

    I too love Christine Kane. Good luck with the house disposal.

Leave a Reply

