Gluten Free Apple Muffins

Sometimes I get food cravings for unusual things or just something different from what I usually eat.  That’s why I bought Hodgson Mill Apple Cinnamon Muffin Mix.  For once I made the mix within a week of buying it.  I REALLY wanted some warm muffins.

apple-muffins 

I greatly appreciated that everything on the ingredient list was recognizable as food.  No chemicals or long scientific names here.  I only used half the sugar called for in the directions and they came out fine.  I did not want an overly sweet muffin.  If I had used the full quarter cup I don’t think I would have found them too sweet, I just didn’t know the first time around.

The next time I make these I will let the batter sit for a few minutes before I put them in the oven.  The mix has a huge amount of apple bits in it, and they were a little chewy.  The apple pieces softened after a day or so, although a little more liquid may have helped that along.  I also appreciate that the mix contained flax seed in a reasonable enough amount that it did not make me sick.

Again, no affiliation with the company.  Just passing along info on a good thing.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free Apple Muffins

  1. gfreeloz says:

    I have a box of that in my pantry! It’s good to read a positive review about the product just before I planned to make it! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

