A Short List Finish

The first item came off the May short list with the finish of another NICU quilt.

 Checkerboard-2-finished

I try to include either a hand-dyed or hand-painted fabric in every quilt this year to use up my dyed and painted stash.  The bright pink in this quilt is hand-dyed.  Most of my quilts this year have included one or the other.

I’m also trying to use up UFOs and stash.  The checkerboard block came out of the orphan block box.  The green binding fabric is from the Patrick Lose Marbles line, circa 1997.  Ouch!  In my own defense, I may have bought that fabric a few years after it hit the shelves.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

I also tried out a new quilting design in the border.  It’s called Echo Lace from Machine Quilting Solutions by Christine Maraccini. 

 checkerboard-2-border

I so love that book.  I really enjoyed stitching that border design, and I’m sure I’ll use it again.  I’ve never quilted a border so fast.

Moving on to the next quilt…..

This entry was posted in baby quilts, charityquilts, quilting, stashbusting, ufos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Short List Finish

  1. Gayle Kush says:

    That turned out very nice! I’m always amazed at how much quilting changes the look of a quilt. I like the asymmetrical triangles the best!

Leave a Reply

