AQS Grand Rapids 2013

I spent yesterday at the AQS Grand Rapids show.  For the first time ever, I signed up for a bus trip instead of driving.  You can’t beat the price, but it’s a trade-off in flexibility and comfort.  As I get older and chose to drive less I imagine it will be a more attractive option.

The show wasn’t very crowded, much like the Columbus NQA show in June.  I hate to admit it, but we have too many shows in this area (Columbus, Cincinnati, Chicago & Grand Rapids).  I don’t know anyone that goes to all of them.  I expect we’ll lose a few in the next couple years.  Personally, I enjoy the smaller crowds, but then I’m not a vendor.

You see very little hand-quilting at major shows anymore.  Machine quilting has become an art.  How times have changed. 

A Diane Gaudynski quilt was displayed next to a couple other wholecloth quilts, and I now understand why she is the queen.  Somehow her combination of fabrics and thread result in crisper, cleaner quilting.  Good to know.

I did make purchases at the show, including fabric.

AQS-show-purchase-2013 

I’m in love with the Material Obsession blog and the quilts they make in their shop.  In my own way, I plan to give it a try.  I won the Quilt Art calendar as a bus door prize.  The Christmas book came out of the $5 book booth.  I love Christmas designs that don’t focus on Santa and gifts.

To see all the other stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric In:    3 1/4 yard

Fabric Out:    8 3/8 yards

Net Used:  5 1/8 yards

This entry was posted in artquilts, books, holidays, quiltshows, stashbusting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AQS Grand Rapids 2013

  1. Gayle Kush says:

    Oh wow! When I was at the show on Wednesday and Thursday you could barely get through the isles and that was with six more rows of vendors too. I am still puzzled when I see booth after booth of quilt shop vendors at these types of things with essentially the same things. Still only a few booths with art quilting stuff in them but boy were they busy! I thought the quality of the quilts was much better this year and as always my favorites were the challenge ones.

  2. Kate says:

    Sounds like you had a good time and didn’t do much damage to the stash even with the acquisition.

  3. Denise says:

    Joe and I went to the show on Friday. It wasn’t very crowded. I just finished a bunch of projects for the Wood County Fair. I don’t have a new quilting project in mind, so I didn’t buy anything. My thoughts lately have been drifting to other types of needlework and mniature quilts. The miniature quilts at the show were awesome. Miniature quilting is where I started and I think my circle is coming back to the beginning. I would like to add more embroidery/needlework to my quilts. I would like to find a happy balance between quilting and other needlework.

Leave a Reply

