UFO #18

Sometimes I just need to work on something different to shake up the creative process.

I’ve had the same projects on my Short List for months, and they’re not moving forward.  That means it’s time to move on to something else.

I allowed myself the required 15 minutes of indecision and decided to work on the poppy quilt.

poppy-quilt 

I took a class with Lenore Crawford in May 2010.  I don’t think I worked on the piece at all after class.  That was the year we moved mom up here, and I spent most of my summer looking at assisted living apartments and making arrangements for her move.

It took me an hour to find all the pieces (three different locations) and remember how to do the technique.  If that isn’t a good argument for avoiding UFOs, I don’t know what is.

I lose myself in the process with this quilt.  I don’t remember enjoying it that much at the time, but there was a lot going on then.  I’m in a different place now, with even more going on, which has somehow made the process more special.

I’m just grateful for any amount of time I spend in the sewing room.

Happy Thanksgiving.  I plan to spend mine enjoying the abundance and blessings in my life.

This entry was posted in applique, artquilts, classes, fusing, nature quilts, patterns, ufos and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to UFO #18

  1. Denise says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Donna!!

  2. Gayle Kush says:

    Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

