Cold Weather Comfort

 

First, the stash report.  No changes this week.  At least I didn’t buy more fabric.

The weather turned bitter cold, which has me curling up with a good book.  This week I checked out a couple quilt design books because I don’t have enough projects on my wish list.

I started with Design Explorations For The Creative Quilter by Katie Pasquini Masopust.  I’ve had this book on my want to read list for months.  The book contains several exercises that explore different approaches for creating abstract art quilts.  It really is very good, although abstract is not my style.  This would be a great book for anyone that wants to shift to abstract art quilts from more traditional quilting.

 quilt-design-books

Then I moved on to Design, Create and Quilt by Rose Hughes.  This book follows the same format, with exercises on different approaches to creating designs.  These exercises can be used to create abstract quilts, but the author’s quilts are more pictorial in a cartoony style.  What I like about this book is that there are patterns included.  If the reader isn’t comfortable coming up with her own design, the method can be explored using the author’s pattern.  The patterns are fun and colorful.  Hughes is my kind of girl.

Even if you’re not interested in designing quilts, the books are worth the time just to browse all the pictures.

To see all the other stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric In:    26 yards

Fabric Out:    10 ½ yards

Net Added:  15 ½ yards

This entry was posted in artquilts, books, quilt design, stashbusting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cold Weather Comfort

  1. Kate says:

    Curling up with a couple of good quilting books sounds like great way to deal with the cold weather. It’s snowing here again.

  2. I love quilting books. They’re eye candy for me when I want to quilt but can’t. 🙂

  3. Dee Dee says:

    Hard to pass up a good quilt book full of wonderful pictures. Keep warm!

Leave a Reply

