Keeping the Stash Alive

I had a guild meeting yesterday, which means I went to my favorite thrift shop that sells fabric for $1 a yard.  I try to buy only quilt shop quality fabrics that I know I will use.  I barely have room to store my fabric as it is.

I bought a light green batik cut and a grab bag.  I knew that grab bag contained fabrics with no place in my stash, including pig fabric and a Thimleberries floral.  The purchases totaled a little over 2 yards.  I bagged the half-yard of rejects and put them in my tote bag to donate at the next guild meeting.

 thrift-fabric-jan-14

I like this year’s pattern of keeping the stash moving.  I know I’ll have a small bust next week and won’t buy any more fabric until March, if then.  The quilt shops here have their big sales after the holidays, so their Superbowl sales don’t usually draw me in.

To see all the other stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric in:  2¾ yard + 2 inches

Fabric out:  3 ¾ yards + 6 inches

Net Used:  1 + 4 inches

This entry was posted in Fabric, quilt guild, stashbusting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping the Stash Alive

  1. Dee Dee says:

    Hard to pass up $1 a yard. It is fun to have a few new pieces now and then.

  2. Gayle Kush says:

    I found out the hard way that even if you have a ton of fabric that you are trying to use up you still need to add some every now and then because otherwise the stash will have a huge hole where something that you don’t have but need belongs. Then that leads to a mission quilt shop run and the chance to overbuy. Now I look around a lot more than I used to but I find I make better purchases over all.

Leave a Reply

