Good Intentions Gone Wrong

Yesterday my quilt guild had their annual fabric sale. Members donate all the fabric. The size of the bag shoppers get to fill depends on their monetary donation, all of which goes to a local battered women’s shelter.

Here’s where I got into trouble. I decided before I went that I wanted to donate $20. That got me a plastic grocery bag, which I could fill as much I wanted as long as all the fabric fit in the bag. I figured I would pick up a few little pieces and be done.

So much for that plan. I scored 10 yards of neutral batiks and almost another 10 yards of Moda. I picked up a lot of lights and reds, which the stash sorely needed. All together it was 22.25 yards in. That’s the most fabric I ever bought at once.

 fabric-sale-51714

Thankfully, I had bagged up over 6 yards of fabric to donate and took it with me yesterday. Most of it was upholstery fabric someone gave me long ago that I knew I’d never use.

donation-fabric-51714 

All that put me in the red. I better get sewing today.

To see all the other stash reports, visit Patchwork Times.

Fabric in: 26 1/8 yards

Fabric out: 18 1/2 yards

Net Added: 7 5/8 yards

This entry was posted in Fabric, quilt guild, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Intentions Gone Wrong

  1. Charlene S says:

    You will be back in the black very soon!

  2. Kathie L. says:

    You can’t pass on good neutrals you always need those.

  3. Libby Smith says:

    You got some good stuff and helped a worthy cause. ‘Nuff said.

  4. Kate says:

    Sounds like you did a good job of cleaning out the old and filling in holes. Even though you are in the red at the moment, those finds will come in handy later.

Leave a Reply

