Design Wall: Rain Quilt

The long weekend gave me an opportunity to work on the challenge for my Art Quilt Group meeting Tuesday. The theme is “rain”.

 rain-quilt-top 

I started with an unbleached muslin colored tone on tone fabric. The color variations are very subtle. Then I painted it with Setacolor ultramarine blue mixed with Lumiere pewter and Setacolor moss green mixed with the pewter. I thinned both colors to the point of colored water. The manufacturer doesn’t recommend watering down metallic paints, but I consider that a challenge to do it and make it work.

Today I’ll quilt it and work on the edge finish. It feels like it needs facing, but I may come up with something else.

For the first time in years I’m linking to Design Wall Monday at Patchwork Times.

This entry was posted in artquiltgroup, artquilts, designwall, designwallmonday, fabricpainting, nature quilts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

