Visual Dance Update

After a long break, I’m back to working through The Visual Dance.

The last shape exercise almost did me in. I had to cut up a picture like a puzzle and put it back together with gaps and overlaps. I added lines where needed to continue the design.

The original is on the left, the mock-up on the right.

 visual-dance-CH3-Ex4

I hate it. Once I decided that I moved on. The scary part – this was the best of three attempts. I must lack the abstract gene.

Next I read through the color chapter. Most of those exercises dealt with identifying your own personal color preferences. I have one exercise left where I get to play with paint. Maybe I’ll do that this weekend.

The next chapter deals with proportion and scale, a new area of study for me. With this chapter the exercises get more intense. I’m looking forward to it.

This entry was posted in nature quilts, quilt design and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

