The Visual Dance: Color

I finished reading the color chapter ages ago and completed the exercises a few weeks ago. Only one exercise produced something. The directions were to pick two complimentary colors and mix them in different proportions to see what new colors were created.

I picked orange and blue, of course.

 Visual-Dance-Ch-4-exercise

 The spots on the left are my first attempts at using watercolor crayons. I learned I have no idea what I’m doing with them. Never fear, I have a book….or two. One day I’ll get out the book and the crayons and learn to use them correctly.

On the right I worked with fabric paint. I love the richness of some of the colors. I was pleasantly surprised by all the different browns I was able to mix.

I’ve moved on to the next chapter, Scale and Proportion. Not something I think about when I when I create. I rely more on intuition here.

No matter, I’m still doing the exercises with a goal of learning something.

Based on my progress so far, I doubt I’ll finish working through the book this year. The exercises get much more challenging in the later chapters, and there’s more of them. I still plan to stick to it, no matter how long it takes.

This entry was posted in painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

