The Last Of The Big Sales

It’s official. I’ve now bought an obscene amount of fabric this year. This puts me in the ranks of not knowing what I have or where it is. I looked for a set of charm squares last night and couldn’t find them. I’m sure they’ll turn up once I finish the project.

The estate sale happened yesterday. She had the biggest fabric stash I’ve ever seen personally, although I know bigger stashes exist. There had to have been thousands of yards of fabric. My mind couldn’t process the scope of looking at everything. I bought a pile of yardage, a kitted UFO for a twin size quilt and a couple books. The book collection was almost as impressive as the fabric stash.

 estate-sale-fabric

 I started sewing the UFO together last night and realized I’m short more than a few pieces. I never thought to pick up the yardage that went with it, even though I saw several pieces. I have enough coordinating fabrics in my stash to finish the quilt and add variety. No way am I buying more fabric.

 estate-sale-kit

 Total damage 27.75 yard in, including the UFO. That’s the most fabric I’ve ever added at one time. Honestly, at $2/yard I wish I’d bought more. On the plus side, I finished the fat quarter challenge quilt for 2.25 yards out.

Visit Patchwork Times for all the other Stash Reports.

Fabric in: 68 3/8 yards

Fabric out: 21 5/8 yards

Net Added: 46 3/4 yards

This entry was posted in books, Fabric, kits, scrapquilts, shopping, stashbusting, ufos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Last Of The Big Sales

  1. Kate says:

    It’s hard to pass up fabric at that price. At least you’ve already started working on the UFO you bought, hopefully it can be counted back out soon.

  2. Libby Smith says:

    At least there is some semblance or order in your purchases. Love the taupes and grays! I wouldn’t pass up that price, either.

  3. I’m really jealous of that estate sale! I’ll have to figure out some way to find one of those near me. 🙂 Kudos to you for only getting what you got. I know I wouldn’t have done as well. 🙂 ~Melanie

  4. Dar in MO says:

    No way would I have come home with that small amount of fabric at those fabulous prices. Those prices are unbelivable. I can just picture a bunch of wild women grabbing any and everything they could get their hands on if it had been in my area. You got some beautiful pieces.

Leave a Reply

