Thinking Creative 2015

The new year is almost here, and I like to think of it as a time of new adventures and opportunities. In 2014 I bought more books and fabric than anything else. A productive year it was not.
In years when I am not doing, I spend a lot of time thinking about doing. That’s where all those books and fabrics come in. The books inspired me to try different techniques and get back to painting fabric.
I really miss fabric painting. It isn’t one of those things you can do ten minutes here and twenty minutes there. It takes committed blocks of time, as does anything experimental. And with all that new fabric gathering dust, I figure I have plenty of experiment options.
This year I started working through The Visual Dance by Joen Wolfrom. I got several chapters in and stopped. I hit a point where I just wasn’t ready for what that book was trying to teach me in the way it was trying to teach it. I may pick it up again some day, but not today.
For 2015 I decided to play with techniques in two different books. The first is Exploring Watercolor by Elizabeth Groves. This is a book of “creative exercises and techniques”. Four pages in chapter one show you the traditional method of painting with watercolors, and the rest of the book explains everything else you can do with them. When I bought the book, I thought many of the ideas would translate well to fabric painting. Now I’m going to find out.

2015-books
The second book is Quilter’s Playtime by Diane Hire. I’m not much of an abstract quilter, but loosening up and having fun with color and fabric appeals to me. If I find it don’t enjoy it, I’ll move on to something else.

That’s what experiments are for.

This entry was posted in artquilts, books, fabricpainting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

