That Darn Thrift Shop

It was THAT weekend again. Good thing the guild only meets every other month.
I think all the cold weather kept everyone inside cleaning because we had a full freebie table yesterday and the thrift shop had lots of great fabric. I had to restrain myself, but not enough.

thrift-shop-fabric-011615
I’m not much of a plaid fan, but I have a project in the planning stages that will include plaids. The red is very good quality and someone even serged the raw edges so it wouldn’t unravel.
The fall fabric grab bag surprised me. I didn’t think the bag held a yard and a half of fabric. The pieces are smaller than I thought, but everything coordinates. I think it was leftovers from a kit, and a very generous kit at that.
No worries, it only took me ten minutes to come up with a project for all those leftovers.
My guild buddy also brought me a huge bag of fashion fabric to look through and take whatever I could use. I plan to start sewing some of my own clothes again. I’ve had to alter everything I’ve bought in the last year, except pants. I’m frustrated with the styles, colors and quality in the stores. Whatever happened to natural fiber and structure?
Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, my friend has different coloring than I do and most the colors she wears make me look pale and sick. I did find one fabric I will use, but I’m not sure how much. I’m not adding that one until I figure it out, as I may cut off what I need and give the rest back.
So much for not adding fabric this year.
With fabric hitting $15/yard at some shops, I’m never going to pass up quality fabric I can use for $1/yard at the thrift. I’ll just have to sew faster.
I’m linking up to Patchwork Times.

Fabric In: 3 2/3 yards
Fabric Out: 0
Net Fabric Added: 3 2/3 yards

This entry was posted in Fabric, quilt guild, shopping, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Darn Thrift Shop

  1. Looks like a good purchase to me. You are not a fabric hoarder and should be pleased to be such a thrifty stitcher.

  2. Valerie says:

    I, too, have been bringing in more fabric than I’ve used. We have the whole year to sew it up! Take care.

Leave a Reply

