February Book

My love affair with books continues.
A friend of mine does editing work and happened to edit a quilting book. The publisher sent her copies because she worked on it, and my friend shared the wealth.

thistle-down-moon

I admit the primitive country look is not my thing. However, the book includes some super creative ideas, like the peapod pincushion and another pincushion that looks like a starfish. People’s creativity never ceases to amaze me.
I can get a lot of mileage from a book outside of my style by imagining what I can do to change the projects. In my mind I brighten the colors and tweak a line or two. Maybe I combine elements from different projects and change the size. The possibilities are endless.
If an idea won’t go away I sketch it out in a design notebook for consideration on a future Short List. I won’t live long enough to make them all, but that doesn’t stop me from writing them down. I just love playing with ideas.
And I love that books trigger them. The affair continues.

This entry was posted in books, creativity, ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

