When Cold Cancels Quilts

My Art Quilt Group meeting was cancelled last night due to weather. The winds kicked up out of the south and drifted the east-west roads, and then they shifted to the West and drifted the north-south roads. I got the cancellation, but I didn’t have to like it.

I used the unexpected free time to try out different paints on felted wool. I decided to appliqué symbols on the batik challenge squares. I chose black for the symbols so they would show, but I only have cream-colored wool.

painted-wool-samples

The samples from left to right are black fabric paint, purple fabric paint and black acrylic paint.

The acrylic paint didn’t cover the fabric as well and had a gray cast to it.

The purple paint was an accident. I thought I grabbed black and decided to give it a try anyway. That one dried much lighter than it looked wet.

The black fabric paint was my fave. I got the best coverage and the most color saturation.
I also decided to hand appliqué the symbols. I’m really enjoying hand stitching the binding on Retro Charm. I hadn’t realized I missed handwork until I picked it up again. Maybe a slow stitch project should have been category #5 on The Short List.

No kicking me out of the sewing room this weekend. Looking forward to some quality time with my fabric paints.

This entry was posted in applique, challenge, fabricpainting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

