A Little Background, No Stash

No fabric in or out this week. I’m working on four projects, but most are in the early stages.
I added yellow paint to the background fabric for the first paint layering experiment. All the yellow/white areas got a coat of translucent yellow and some received opaque yellow. No difference visually, but the opaque spots feel stiffer.

paint-layering-backgroundThe grape color is way off, but the yellow truly is that bright.  It’s snowing this morning and I can’t reproduce the lighting from the first photo, no matter how much I mess with it in Photoshop.  Here’s what it looked like before (on left).

hand-dyed-backgroundsI’ve struggled with how to add paint to the fabric in a way that results in the effect I want. My inspiration artist (Gerhard Richter) uses large boards to scrape paint across bigger than life walls. I need to translate that to a fat quarter.
The answer came yesterday when I stopped at the library book sale. I picked up a book on faux finishes (for walls) and there it was. The author used a wallpaper brush to paint textured stripes. Bingo. I’m glad other people think of these things so the rest of us can use them.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 3 2/3 yards
Fabric Out: 4 1/3
Net Fabric Used: 2/3 yard

This entry was posted in books, fabricpainting, stashbusting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Background, No Stash

  1. Good luck with the fabric painting. I’m looking forward to seeing your new projects.

  2. Dar in MO says:

    Interesting experiment with painting on fabric. Will look forward to seeing your progress.

Leave a Reply

