March Short List

Wow. The third Short List of the year already. Even though I finished nothing on the January or February Short Lists, I still believe in this method. I know it’s the right approach for me; it just takes a bit to get in the flow. March is the month where I turn the corner.
As a reminder, the Short List is something old (UFO), something new, something painted and something abstract. I’m also adding a fifth category for handwork. I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I picked it up again.
Something old: Retro Charm – The binding is 75% done.

retro-charm-front
Since I know I’ll finish it this week I’m also adding the still life from the Esterita Austin class.

pottery-in-progress
Something new: Sunflower by Zebra – The sunflowers are fused and I’m ready to start the machine applique.

fused-sunflowers
I’m also making a pincushion this month after I spilled a whole container of pins between the bed and the wall. Twenty years of sewing and I’ve never made a pincushion.
Painting: The painting technique for February is layering color. I found some inspiration in the paintings of Gerhard Richter.

paint-layering-background
Abstract: The first Playtime method is called Hopscotch. Think of little blocks of fabric sewn into little logs of fabric with funky angles on both the logs and the blocks.
Handwork: The batik challenge from my Art Quilt Group. It’s still in the design phase, but wool appliqué may be involved.

batik-challenge-mock-up
So much for not adding anything new to the list until I finish something. And I will finish something this month.

This entry was posted in applique, artquiltgroup, artquilts, challenge, fabricpainting, ufos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

