Gluten Free Snacking

When you eat a lot of rice and vegetables, you need to eat a little something before bed to keep your stomach from growling in the middle of the night.
My snack of choice is often cereal, with a little granola added for interest.
I recently tried these two versions.

gluten-free-granolasI don’t remember much about the McCabe’s. I picked it up on clearance at Kroger, so I may never see it again.
I liked the Udi’s because it had lots of chunks of fruit and nuts and no flax seed. The no flax seed part rocked. This one I would buy again.
I also had a hankering for brownies, so I made a batch using this recipe. I substituted gluten free baking mix for flour and added a tablespoon of water because the batter was a little thick. I used the first recipe with the chocolate squares. Maybe next time I’ll try the one with cocoa powder.
Just like the wheat version in texture and taste.

GF-brownies

Not the best picture, but you get the idea.

I’ve moved away from the recipes with specialty flours and adapt my favorite recipes instead. I don’t have a lot of time to bake and find this easier.
Whatever works.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

