Happy 86th

My mom turned 86 today.
She isn’t very mobile anymore, so I picked up Wendy’s and drove over to eat lunch with her. The nursing facility usually puts us in a private room so it’s easier to visit while we eat. The place was total chaos today, so we ate at a conference table in an administrative office.
Mom really enjoyed it. She doesn’t get fast food much. Her and dad would “go out for a sandwich” when he was alive so I think it brought back happy memories for her.
Wendy’s sandwiches are messy and mom got it all over herself, but she didn’t care. When we were done eating I took her back to her room and helped her change into a clean shirt. Then it was back to work for me.
Sometimes with dementia patients, it’s the little things that make all the difference. As days go, this was a good one.

mom-late-1940s

Happy Birthday mom.

This entry was posted in family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy 86th

  1. Denise says:

    I’m glad you had a good visit with your mom. Thanks for sharing a picture of her. I’ve been doing genealogy for a couple of years. I really enjoy old pictures.

Leave a Reply

