April Short List

Now that I’ve lived three months with The Short List, I’m ready to evaluate it. I like that it keeps me focused on a few projects instead of lots of projects. I do think five is too many. Three would be better, but I’m not going to reduce the number of items on the list. As long as I can live with never finishing the list in a month, the five can stay.
As a reminder, the Short List is something old (UFO), something new, something painted, something abstract and a handwork project.
Something old: The still life from the Esterita Austin class.

still-life-2
Something new: The batik challenge from my Art Quilt Group. I’m still working out design issues. I’ve dropped the appliqué idea and decided to paint the designs.

batik-challenge-mock-up
Painting: Layering color. I found some inspiration in the paintings of Gerhard Richter. The background is painted. Now it needs….more.

paint-layering-R2
Abstract: The first Playtime method is called Hopscotch. Think of little blocks of fabric sewn into little logs of fabric with funky angles on both the logs and the blocks.
Handwork: Sunflower by Zebra. All the machine work is done. I just need to stitch down the binding and add stems to the leaves.

fused-sunflowers
I’m also adding a plastic bag holder to the list. We use the plastic produce bags to clean out the litter box and store things like chicken bones in the freezer until garbage day. I’m tired of having a wad of them on the kitchen counter.
Maybe I should have a sixth category for those crafty projects I don’t much like making. They seem to be growing on me.
I will finish two, maybe three projects this month. I can live with that.

This entry was posted in applique, artquilts, challenge, fabricpainting, ufos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April Short List

  1. Deana says:

    I just love everything about this post but especially the hand dyed fabrics and the still life pots!

Leave a Reply

