My First Craftsy Class

I posted weeks ago about trying a Craftsy class and received a lot of good feed back from readers. Thanks again to everyone that left a comment. Last Sunday I bought a class (or two) and started watching it.
My first choice was Hand Applique Made Easy with Mimi Dietrich. I honestly don’t ever remember her teaching in this area, although she might have back when I started quilting.
I chose this class because I taught myself to appliqué and thought I might have missed a few things along the way. I did a lot of hand appliqué about ten years ago for three or so years. I have the UFOs to prove it. Some of my applique turned out fine, others not so much.
I listened to the first two lessons and am surprised at how much I’ve learned. Apparently I missed more than a few things along the way. The one thing I did have right was the appliqué stitch. I have a lot to learn about prepping appliqué pieces. I’ll probably fall off my chair by the time she gets to needle turn.
I decided to do a modified version of the class project. I’ll appliqué enough blocks to cover all the major areas – curves, stems, circles, points and valleys. After that I’ll move on to UFOs and “some day” quilts.
I never understood all the fuss around Craftsy, but now I do. You can’t beat the amount of info you get for the price, anywhere. All my classes were on sale for $19.99. I might be able to buy a book for that, but I’d rather watch someone appliqué than look at pictures of it in a book. I could never touch a live class for that price.
So now I’m a Craftsy convert. And I’m not looking at classes again until I finish the one I bought. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

This entry was posted in applique, classes, ufos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Craftsy Class

  1. Denise says:

    I was curious about Craftsy classes, too. Thanks for the post!

  2. QuiltShopGal says:

    I have taken quite a few classes at Craftsy and learned so much from all of them. I also like to share reviews and I’m about to wrap up taking another class and hopeful to release a review this week, to share with others. I think it helps to let others know as the class may catch their interest. I had not taken this class on Craftsy with Mimi Dietrick and your review certainly caught my attention and I now want to take it. Thank you for sharing and inspiring.

    QuiltShop

Leave a Reply

