All About Creating

I’ve been on a creativity kick.
I finished the 21-Day Creativity Challenge running through Rose Hughes’ Facebook page. Every day she posted a word and the participants drew whatever the word inspired, but only for five minutes.
Although I love the idea of sketching, I didn’t love this challenge. I discovered I’m much more of a look at it and draw it girl than a think about it and draw it girl. Color would have helped too. I thought about adding colored pencil to my sketches and didn’t. Note to self for the future: add color.
After that I read Steal Like an Artist by Austin Cleon. I’d seen the hype about this book and had to wait a few weeks for it to come in through the library. There was a waiting list.
I have to say I wasn’t impressed, largely because I’d heard it all before. I didn’t find anything new here. I did appreciate Cleon’s brevity. I read the book in about 30 minutes.
If you haven’t read a lot of books on the creative process, you will likely get a lot out of this one. If you have, stick with The War Of Art by Steven Pressfield or The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharpe. Both are excellent books.
After that I got back to watching my Craftsy class and sewing.
Thinking about creating is fine, but you still have to show up and do the work.

This entry was posted in books, creativity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All About Creating

  1. sandydh says:

    Have you done Julia Cameron’s Artist’s Way? It’s extensive, but I got a tremendous amount out of it. I also read through her second book and started the third, but never finished. Neither of them had the same impact on me that the first one did. I also read Tharp but didn’t get as much out of it as Cameron. I’m glad to hear what you think about Steal Like an Artist–I’d also heard a lot about it but I don’t think I’ll bother after reading your thoughts. I’ll check out The War of Art.

Leave a Reply

