May Short List

April was the best month yet. I finished three of the six projects on the list and made another small project that wasn’t on the list. That’s how I hoped this system would work.
In case you missed the prior posts, the Short List is something old (UFO), something new, something painted, something abstract and a handwork project.
Something Old: The still life from the Esterita Austin class.

still-life-2
Something Else Old: I’m breaking my own rule by adding a second UFO, the brown and blue Safehouse quilt. My guild makes bed quilts for Safehouse, a battered women’s shelter. The top is almost done and I want it out of here by the next meeting, which is mid-May.

charity-kit-top
Something new: A top for Heartbeat. My guild doesn’t support this charity, but my friend’s guild does. I haven’t done any charity tops yet this year.
Painting: Layering color. I found some inspiration in the paintings of Gerhard Richter. The background is painted and isn’t talking to me. It’s on hold until inspiration comes my way.

paint-layering-R2
Abstract: The first Playtime method is called Hopscotch. Think of little blocks of fabric sewn into little logs of fabric with funky angles on both the logs and the blocks.
Handwork: The Craftsy hand appliqué class project. I’ve cut a number of pieces, but nothing else.
The categories are still under construction. After this month, the painting category will change to painting/dyeing. The dyes are calling.
I may also drop the abstract category. The quilts still appeal, but I can’t get motivated to start. I hadn’t planned on the handwork category when I started the year, but adding it was the right thing to do. I find five categories is one too many. It comes down to how thin I want to spread myself and how many UFOs I want to finish. I’ll figure it out before the next Short List.
I’ll have two finishes this month with serious progress on two more quilts. This system so works for me.

This entry was posted in applique, charityquilts, classes, ufos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to May Short List

  1. sandydh says:

    I’m really finding your concept of the “short list” intriguing–it may really help me stay focused on getting older work done while still allowing me the fun of working on new things. I have to get a couple of time-constrained projects done first–once those decks are cleared I will be thinking of my own categories!

  2. sandydh says:

    Follow-up: As it turns out, I’m writing about your Short List in my blog post scheduled for Monday (5/4/15). Hope you don’t mind! 🙂

Leave a Reply

