Piles Of Fabric And Stash

No change to my numbers this week even though a lot of fabric came into my house.

memory-quilt-fabricsA co-worker gave it to me to donate to my guild for charity quilts. His MIL, who died earlier this year, was a life-long clothing sewer.
It was such a nice gesture that the right thing to do is to make his wife a quilt out of the fabrics.
I think I’ve settled on a throw size scrappy pattern. When I looked online I was surprised at how many memory quilts are made out of squares and nothing else, usually with no planned pattern. I get it, but I want to do something different. Since I’m starting with yardage I have a little more flexibility.
Most wall quilts had pieces too small to showcase the fabrics.
It would be nice to have the top pieced before my next guild meeting so I can donate the fabric then. It takes quite a bit of space in my already overcrowded sewing room.
I’m linking to Patchwork Times.
Fabric In: 7.7 yards
Fabric Out: 18.15 yards
Net Fabric Used: 10.45 yards

This entry was posted in scrapquilts, stashbusting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Piles Of Fabric And Stash

  1. I am sure his wife would appreciate a memory quilt made out of her mother’s fabrics.

  2. Kate says:

    That is such a nice gesture.

  3. Dar in MO says:

    A memory quilt is a very nice way to remember a loved one. They are always very much appreciated by the recipient, especially when they are not expecting anything at all. I know you will do something special with the donated fabric you received.

  4. Linda says:

    A very nice gesture. I can’t wait to see what you do. Miss you. Take care, Linda

Leave a Reply

